Shrimp and Corn Salad

This salad is super light and refreshing. If you’re like me you’re looking for bulk foods that keep you fuller longer and this does just that. You can even add more veggies if you’re in to that. Green chiles would be really delish. 

Phase one of my cut has officially begun so I’m really focusing on more bulk foods and less protein bars and processed snacks this time around. Except rice cakes, I’m one of those people that actually loves rice cakes, so I’ll be eating them throughout my prep.

I will never claim my nutrition is perfect- I love pizza and donuts too much. But I do eat with intention and I know the importance of keeping vegetables as a staple in my diet. I’ve been watching a lot of the full day of eating vlogs on YouTube from famous fitness competitors or influencers and some of them really got to me because some of them actually go entire days without eating a single vegetable or fruit. I think the reason this bothers me is because there are so many people watching these videos from the stance of being complete beginners and are looking to these influencers to find out how to start their fitness journey. Guys- eat your damn vegetables. Being fit is so much more than aesthetics- blood pressure, cholesterol, blood sugar all matter arguably more than a six pack. 

So if you’re trying to figure out where to start, adding a fresh vegetable to every meal is a great first step.

Ok, off my soap box. Go make this.


shrimp

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Directions

Macros: carbs- 21g, protein- 27g, fat- 1g

Roasted Shrimp:

  • 2lb shrimp
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 4g garlic paste
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Roast at 350 for 10-15minutes set aside to cool

Salad:

  • 300g raw diced zucchini 
  • 315g cooked and cooled corn

Combine raw zucchini with cooled cooked corn. 

Salad dressing:

  • 8oz fat free Greek yogurt
  • 3tbsp local honey
  • 4g garlic paste
  • 1/2tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup hot sauce (I used cholula)
  • 1tbsp low sodium soy sauce

Whisk all ingredients together. 

In a large bowl combine shrimp, vegetable mixture, and sauce. Cover and refrigerate for 1-2 hours.

I added a dash of paprika and hot sauce on top when I ate it!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

