Touch the Stove

My family and I ventured to East Tennessee for a week.  We’ve hiked, chased waterfalls, fished, swam, cooked, and sipped on wine.  I’ve laughed, loved, and slept.  Sometimes vacation seems like an alternate existence to me.  No work, no blood work to get done, no doctors, no schedule, no planning.  It’s been amazing.

The truth is however- I will go home.  I will get results from tests I never thought I’d be having done.  I will have to make decisions I don’t want to make.  And thats the point of life right?  How can you truly appreciate the peaks of the good times without feeling the valleys of the bad times?


We can read every self help book in the world- but without truly living every moment and embracing the emotions and feelings they bring-we will never see the beauty of the comfort and wisdom behind the hurt.  When we are young we learn not to touch the stove because it’s hot; usually not because of the warnings from our parents, but from that curious little touch when they turn away.  This is just a very literal way of showing that sometimes lessons are uncomfortable- they aren’t just sugar coated words of affirmation to make them digestible. Embrace it. It will make you better.

This week I stood and looked out over a beautiful mountain valley, I felt the cold rush of water under a secluded waterfall, I fell back in love with the life I am creating.  I am excited for the plans and future I am moving in to, and what I know with absolute certainty is that without the pain behind a break up, the unknown of awaiting a diagnosis, the stress of throwing myself out of balance— I’d never be moving forward in to my best life.

I had to touch the stove.


 

 

5 Comments

  1. Great post, I always love to travel to get back in tune 🙂

  2. Gabby

    This was so nice, I read it twice 😌 Love this. Another of your many gifts. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Brad Campbel

    Good stuff Christina and thanks for sharing. I’ve touched the stove as well recently to move forward.

  4. bri

    sister friend preach

  5. Brandon Witt

    “We can read every self help book in the world- but without truly living every moment and embracing the emotions and feelings they bring-we will never see the beauty of the comfort and wisdom behind the hurt.” This is an amazing line Christina! I fell into the habit of reading as many books as I could just to check them off my list but without ever applying any of the principles in the book. Its about practicing what you learn and sharing it that’s most important!

Leave a Reply

